In 1864, a group of people, led by Pastor John Griffiths, officially founded Libanus Baptist Church. They began Libanus as a Welsh-speaking church that would serve Llanfairfechan and the surrounding villages. Although the original members of Libanus came from different backgrounds, they had a single unifying vision—to help the people of North Wales discover the transforming love of Jesus Christ. Since then, Libanus has learned new ways of doing things to accommodate the tumultuous changes in culture over the past 100 years, while still maintaining its original values and vision.
The 1990s brought more changes for Libanus, and the church reemerged in 1999 as an English-speaking church, led by Pastor Bill Hoving and his wife Vicki. The Hovings served at Libanus until 2005, when they felt God calling them elsewhere. Around that time, Pastor Kevin Davis and his wife Kim moved to Llanfairfechan and led the community at Libanus Baptist Church.